Monday Motivation: My Daily Affirmation Statement

I’ll be the first to say it –  Mondays are rough.  Especially when you have to wake up at 6 am to prepare for the storm of assignments, meetings, and everything in between that is coming your way, today and throughout the week. Today is absolutely one of those days for me, and I have to admit that I sometimes find myself wondering what all the stress is really for. I mean, wouldn’t it be easier to buy a ticket to California and work at Hooters for the rest of your life? I’m sure it would be. That’s why I am so in love with today’s Monday Must Have post by my good friend Nina Cammalleri.

Nina writes that she has created a “Daily Affirmation Statement” for herself, a sort of Mission Statement to help her see past the tough moments, and remember what it’s all for. Being the organizational queen she is, Nina also included the recipe to writing your own Daily Affirmation Statement, which has encouraged me to take a breather and write my own. One of the best parts about this statement, is your ability to change it as you grow. I’m writing mine today, based on how I feel at this point in time and the experiences I’ve had thus far, but that doesn’t mean it’ll be the same in a month or two. So shoutout to Nina for inspiring my Monday, I hope my readers can take something away from her fabulous idea as well.

The Recipe

What Others Say: The first ingredient is reflecting on the positive things your friends and family have said about you. Lately I have heard ‘smart’, ‘beautiful’, and ‘driven’, and I love those words. In fact, my mood has substantially increased already just remembering that these are things people actually think about me. Additionally, I think my ability to affirm these qualities within myself is a wonderful thing. I’m sure if you would have asked me a year ago if I think these words describe me, I would have laughed. But last night I went to the grocery store without makeup on, which may seem so trivial, but the last time I left the house without making sure every blemish was covered probably dates back to when I was 14 years old. I think this is partly due to the fact that my wonderful roommates reassured me that it would be okay, partly because I was too tired to bother, but mostly because I’ve realized that beauty isn’t skin deep. And if people can see my beauty before seeing a complexion absolutely destroyed by stress pimples – well, I couldn’t ask for more.

What Your Past Says: This was a difficult ingredient to add into the mix, as I like to think that you can’t write the next chapter of your life if you keep re-reading the last one. But one of the most important things I’ve learned from my past is, “you’ll get through it, no matter how hard it may seem.” This past summer I survived one of the most difficult experiences of my life, career-wise. It was my first real experience in the PR world and it seriously left me wondering if I could handle the one thing I wanted most in life. But look at me now – I got through it, I learned a lot, and I have a lot of kick ass experiences to show off to future employers. But not only that, now, whenever I’m faced with a difficult task or a hard couple of weeks, I can remember that I WILL get through it. And afterwards, I will be proud.

What the Haters Say:  This ingredient is awesome – it includes taking negative things that people may say, and turning them into a positive thought. I thought back to middle school and high school, when all you want is to feel pretty and accepted (or was this just me?), and considered using these in my statement, but I wanted to dig a little deeper than that. If you know me, you know that it’s really not hard to bring me to tears, so there’s been a lot of moments where people have seen me as ‘over sensitive’ or ‘over emotional’. But I’ve decided that this isn’t a negative thing at all – I think my sensitivity comes from having a big heart. If I take something too personally, or let a poor grade ruin my entire day (or week), it’s because I really put my heart on the line. I try incredibly hard to excel in every aspect of my life – school, personal, friendships, relationship, family, career, you name it. So when something negative happens, it really gets to me. So sure, maybe some call it over-sensitive, but I think it can be more accurately described as passion.

What You Think: The most important ingredient, it includes describing yourself from your very own perspective. I think at this point in my life, I can most accurately describe myself as ambitious. And as much as I’d like to describe myself as something on a deeper level, I know the truth. I know I’ve already spent countless hours looking for summer jobs (yes, jobs for summer 2014), and that I try to grasp every opportunity that comes my way (even if it includes working for no pay and spending $100 on train tickets). If being ambitious and career-oriented at the virgin age of 21 is such a bad thing – I haven’t felt the consequences yet. And I don’t think I’ll be feeling the consequences in 10 years when I’m the Director of Communications for the NBA (a girl can dream, right?).

The Finale: Nina’s final ingredient is to tell yourself you’re beautiful. Which I love, but I think the finale should also include telling yourself, that you love you. Because while it might be easier to flee the country and be a waitress for the rest of your life, that really isn’t who I’m destined to be, and I’m sure a lot of you will feel the same. So while the stress is enough to break you, just remember that you’ll come out as a stronger person afterwards… and it’ll be worth it in the end, I promise.

So, My Daily Affirmation Statement: Hey, Katrina. You’re smart, beautiful, and driven… at least, isn’t that what everyone is saying these days? And if your most beloved friends and family are saying it, then it must be true. So put down the foundation brush and remember what it’s really all for today. You survived the past, so you’ll survive this too. And you’ll come out a stronger person, so what’s better than that? The best part about it all, is that your heart is in it. So cry about the bad marks (but not for long), and pick yourself up and put even more of that big heart into the next project. That’s what ambition is. And that’s why you’re great. Love, Katrina.

2 thoughts on “Monday Motivation: My Daily Affirmation Statement

What are your thoughts?

