Happy Healthy Hair

It’s been about 9 months since I chopped off all of my hair, and as devastating as it was at the time, I couldn’t be more pleased with my decision now. I have long suffered with thin and lifeless locks, thus I was always trying to find the best hair extensions around to bulk it up and make it long. From clip-ins to bonded, I really have tried it all. Little did I know that giving my strands a good chop would be the best remedy to growing long, natural, hair. Though it doesn’t just stop there, I’ve realized taking care of your hair is a full-time job. So after reading tons of articles and tips for growing happy healthy hair, I’ve made a list of the one’s that work best for me.

 Me with extensions in October 2012
63097_10151300615277160_1553227096_n

1. Chop It Off: I’m well aware of the trauma that accompanies this step, but I find it’s the most necessary if you want thicker, healthier locks. I’ll be the first to admit that I cried real tears once I got home from the salon the day I did this, but now I’ve never looked back! It’s also made me a more adventurous person hair-wise – I’m now considering experimenting with an asymmetrical cut and some darker colours in the future. I’ve really come to realize that it is JUST hair.

When I chopped off all of my hair in February 2013 
549346_10151522486092160_1540029575_n

2. Save Water, Don’t Wash: I only really wash my hair on days when it’s slightly unacceptable to throw my hair up in a bun. But if I’m just going to school, running a few quick errands, or lazing around the house – up it goes, no wash required! I’ve found this has totally saved my hair, and my shampoo bill.

3. Oil is Your Friend: One reason why I love not washing my hair every day is because you can really see the natural oils doing their thang (yes in other words, my hair gets greasy). But when I know I’ll be washing my hair a few days in a row, I make sure to run some argan oil through my ends and let it sit overnight. Your hair needs these oils to grow long and strong.

4. Condition, Condition, Condition: I think this is probably one of the best things you can do for your hair, in terms of moisture – this is like giving your hair a little drink. I try to deep condition my hair one or two times a week. It’s a great thing to remember to do while you shave your legs, since the longer it sits, the better it works.

5. Turn Off the Heat: I’m not someone that can go without straightening or curling my hair, unless I can throw it up in a bun. But I’ve really tried to cut the blow drying step out of my routine. For me this means waking up a little earlier, but this allows me to shower as soon as I wake up, and then I eat breakfast and watch some TV while I wait until my hair is about 75% dry. I’ve actually come to enjoy this part of my morning!

I’m so happy with my hair and the progress its made; and although it only reaches my shoulders right now, when I have it up in a bun it looks like I have WAY more hair than I do. In fact, people are always surprised when I wear it down and it’s so short! But I wouldn’t have gotten to this point if I hadn’t tried so hard to maintain my strands’ health. If you guys have any tips that you’ve found to help grow healthy hair, I’d love to hear them!

My hair now, November 2013! 
photo

4 thoughts on “Happy Healthy Hair

  1. Sometimes Mom really does know best! So glad that I convinced you to cut it all off (although I was a little worried at the time after I saw the look on your face!) I love your shorter hair…lots of body and movement. One other tip from my hairdresser and good friend, don’t overprocess, best not to colour your hair too often…give it a rest and it will grow healthier and stronger.

    • Thanks so much! Basically… I want my hair to grow as long as possible, it would be awesome if I could grow it as long as my extensions in the first picture. But I’m trying not to get too ahead of myself, so at the moment I’m aiming for hair that’s just slightly longer than my shoulders! I’m obsessed with Cheryl Cole’s hairstyle in this picture: http://media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/79/6e/c1/796ec101e6c20d3ff4661a9dee6213a7.jpg – so that’s my next adventure. Thanks for reading!

      • Nice! That’s a beautiful style. I’ve got pretty long hair, but I just met a friend whose hair is down to her knees – there’s a photo on my blog (www.herecomestheplanet.com) but I’m not sure I could cope with hair that long! Once it gets past one’s butt it starts getting caught in car doors and whatnot;)

What are your thoughts?

