And Breathe

I’m sure most people can agree that December is a crazy month no matter where you are in life. And for me personally, despite the amount of craziness I’ve already committed myself to, for some reason I keep shoveling more onto my plate. I’m not superwoman by any means, and although I feel absolutely blessed for the amount of opportunities that have come my way this term, there comes a point when even I have to admit that I need a breather. This post began as a collection of notes-to-self to help me keep calm over the next few weeks, but I wanted to share them with you guys, since I’m sure many of you can relate as well.

Take it  Day by Day: There are some days when I open up my planner and have a minor heart attack because of all of the coloured ink and highlighted markings on the page, but I’ll be honest – when the rainbow coloured days finally come, they’re usually not THAT bad. It’s so easy to get overwhelmed by thinking about all of the things you need to accomplish during the coming week, but if you only focus on the day at hand, it won’t feel so bad. And you’ll enjoy yourself a lot more if you’re not worrying about what’s next.

Hug it Out: Think of the best hugger you know, and go hug them. Right now. I’m sure I don’t need to explain why this is so necessary during times like these.

Consider the Rewards: Let’s be straight here – I love what I do, but some days I just want to sit in bed and have a Netflix marathon… is that too much to ask!? So this is when I remind myself of the results that come from getting my booty out of bed every morning by 7.. compared to the consequences of not getting out of bed at all. So keep your eye on the prize, even if it’s hard to keep your eyes open some mornings. And then reward yourself to Starbucks, because that’s important too.

And if ALL else fails… watch this adorable video and you’ll forget all your worries for a minute and thirty seconds.

2 thoughts on “And Breathe

  1. Thanks for starting my day off right:) (The pups are so cute…but remember we already have a golden retriever, so I don’t want to see any “breathing” presents under the tree!)

  2. Pingback: Monday Must Have: Exam Season Prep | TYPE A CITY GIRL

What are your thoughts?

