Just Do It

Tonight I read an awesome post on one of my fave blogs – Lost Gen Y Girl (I actually feel like the blog’s owner, Kayla, and I are soul sisters, because I tend to agree with everything she has to say). Kayla’s post “On Saying Yes to Everything” should be self-explanatory in what the rest of the post entails, but it’s basically words of encouragement on getting involved, putting yourself out there, and saying yes to new experiences.

c97933010814b80ed83ce812b49c7cb9

Now lately, I’ve said yes to so many things that I seriously can’t remember the last time I said no. I mean there’s a constant battle in my head between the one side – the one that’s always worrying about having enough time to get everything done, and the other side – the one that salivates at the thought of trying something new. 9.5 times out of 10, the latter side wins (and if it doesn’t, it’s usually due to circumstances that aren’t under my direct control). I can’t tell you exactly why I have such a problem with saying no to trying new things, but I think it’s because I know of all the amazing things that can happen when you say yes. I know this automatic affirmation of all things out of the ordinary isn’t an inherent quality in everyone – actually, I’m pretty sure noone is born with it, it’s something you learn to love from experience. But this really is a quality that people should strive to obtain – all I can do is tell you why I think it’s such a wonderful thing, but I don’t even think words do it justice… you have to experience its wonderfulness yourself.

IT HELPS YOU CONQUER FEAR: I’m not gonna lie, I get nervous really easily. Like super sweaty, minor heart attack, on the verge of blacking out nervous. But I never actually black out, and although I will probably never get over my nervousness, the fact that I’m able to tell myself that “I’ve done it before, I can do it again” is all I really need to convince myself that jumping into something new is totally worth it.

YOU NEVER KNOW WHO YOU’LL MEET: I think networking is a crucial part of being successful no matter what stage you’re at in life. And I don’t mean networking in a strictly professional sense – networking could simply mean meeting your new best friend! And although I’ve had many people remind me that “it’s not what you know, it’s who you know”, I rarely go into a situation strictly for meeting new people. But I think this is the best way to do it, because simply putting yourself out there to have a good time and enjoy yourself is going to make it a lot easier for you to meet others.

IT KEEPS LIFE INTERESTING: Going to bed, waking up, going to school/work, going home, going to bed. As relaxing and easy going as that sounds, is that what you want your life to be? I totally understand the concept of having a chill day… I love days filled with popcorn and Netflix! But doing this every day would be painful. There are a million things you could be doing and experiencing – so go out there and get a hobby, volunteer, make new friends… but whatever you do, don’t fall victim to a routine that doesn’t excite you.

What are your thoughts?

