#KimoraTaughtMe

I’m not sure if I should be embarrassed to admit this, but I love a reality TV show that features a strong, leading woman. Kell on Earth is my absolute fave (obviously – since it’s focused around the PR industry), but I recently finished another series that I ended up loving. It’s a few years old, but it’s Kimora Lee Simmons’: Life in the Fab Lane. Kimora is a former supermodel, the former CEO of Baby Phat, and currently a mom and fashion mogul that heads numerous other fashion and beauty brands. The show centres around Kimora’s career (planning fashion shows, branding, ad campaigns – all of that fun stuff that really gets my blood pumping) but it also includes many aspects of her family life as well. I was completely absorbed into this show, and binge watched the first 3 seasons on Netflix (yes Nina, I am a binge watcher!) and then went hunting for the rest of the episodes on the internet. Call me crazy, but I found a lot of the show’s aspects to be really motivating career-wise, so I’m thinking about adding Kimora to my list of role models. Here’s what she taught me:

You Can Be a Mogul, AND a Mom: If you know me, you know I’m career-driven. If you really know me, you know that my career is my baby. The whole being a mom thing just never struck me as something I really wanted to do, and I think it’s because I am terrified of having to choose between the two (mind you, at this point in time I still feel way too young to have children, these are simply my own speculations). I loved that Kimora brought her kids along on all of her travels, and included them in a lot of her projects (and not in an exploitative kind of way – she taught them how to design their own products, like I’m talking meetings with a design team, the whole shebang; it was super cute). Obviously Kimora is in a position where she’s able to have the flexibility to include her children in this way, but if everything goes my way then I should be able to have this flexibility some day too (I’m only half-kidding). Although I’m well aware that this is a television show first, seeing such a successful woman being such a good mom at the same time was really inspiring to me; so maybe I’ll rethink my plans for motherhood and work that into the master plan some day too (I am the time management queen, after all).

Fashion is a Magical Industry: So I may be painfully goal-oriented and obsessed with writing my master plan, but there is an aspect of my life that I refuse to plan – my industry. There are obviously industries that I am particularly interested in (I’ll give you a hint -move over Michael Bass), but I refuse to pursue a particular industry so hard that I miss out on all of the other incredible opportunities around me. I mean there will always be a part of me that will want to be the executive in charge of planning the annual Victoria’s Secret fashion show (and I certainly wouldn’t hate it if that happened!), but I haven’t spent a lot of time researching the fashion industry lately. Well, Kimora totally re-sparked my interest for a career in fashion – it really is the creative centre of the world. It’s pretty amazing how an ad campaign or a fashion show can convey so many emotions and ideas, so being a member of the team that puts something like that together would just be such an experience. So Mr.Bass, you may be able to hold onto your job for a little longer.

It’s Okay to Cry: The one thing about me that I wish wasn’t a thing is that I cry…. a lot. I’m not talking about full blown bawling sessions, but I’m extremely susceptible to watery eyes (happy tears, tears of frustration, angry tears…. sad tears too I guess). This isn’t something that I’m necessarily proud of, actually no, it’s really embarrassing. But you know what, Kimora cries a lot too, so now I don’t feel so bad. I’ve spent a good amount of time trying to convince myself that my uncontrollable tear ducts aren’t a weakness, but seeing a woman that is so strong and empowered made me realize that I’m not just telling myself lies – it really is okay to be a little emotional sometimes!

5 thoughts on “#KimoraTaughtMe

  1. Right here is the perfect website for anyone who would like to find out about this
    topic. You realize so much its almost tough to argue with you (not that I really will need
    to…HaHa). You certainly put a fresh spin on a subject that has been written about for a long time.
    Excellent stuff, just excellent!

  2. Pingback: Homepage

What are your thoughts?

