Recover from your Lazy Weekend

So it’s Sunday night and I just had one of those weekends… Surely you know the kind of weekend I’m talking about – the well-intentioned one that promised productivity, but instead led to a whole lot of Netflix and one too many hours of sleep (or in my case, 6 too many hours). The one where I found myself saying “what midterm on Tuesday?” too many times. So here I am wishing for a weekend do-over.

But obviously that’s not a possibility. And as much as Monday is going to kick my butt for my own lack of productivity (I refuse to call myself ‘lazy’), I’m using my slow-paced, low-key weekend to motivate me to kick it into high gear for the rest of the week (reading week is just around the corner, after all). So if you’re like me and this weekend just sort of, got away from you, check out my tips for recovering from your lazy weekend.

1. Make a To-Do List (or five): So you slacked all weekend. Lucky for you, your work for the week is pretty much cut out for you now! You may have a few too many things on the go, but creating a visual for the tasks you need to complete (including when they need to be completed by) will help keep you on track for the week.

2. Find your Monday Mantra: We all hate Mondays, or at least the thought of them. But unless you had the kind of Monday I did last week (RE: a bus drove through a puddle and soaked me while I was walking to a meeting, the meeting itself made me almost-cry, and I had a few too many deadlines to meet), than usually they turn out to be not so bad! Check out some Quotes boards on Pinterest and find your Monday mantra – make it your phone’s wallpaper, share it to social media, convince yourself that you’re starting your week off on the right foot, and unless you get soaked by a bus, I’m sure you will!

3. Pick Something to Look Forward To: Have you ever noticed that the weeks go by so much quicker when you’re excited for something? It doesn’t have to be anything big or extravagant – but maybe you’re going to have a Valentine’s-themed movie night, or maybe you’re going to treat yourself to froyo even though it’s -20 outside. Let yourself be excited for something, no matter how small, and you’ll feel so much more motivated to cross all of the less-fun stuff off of your list.

4. Start with a Clean Slate: So maybe you and your best friend got into an argument last week, or maybe you failed the test you thought you had studied so hard for. Don’t even think about bringing that old negativity into a fresh new week. Life isn’t going to be perfect all the time, no matter how hard you plan for it to go smoothly. So let go of the things that no longer matter, and let this new week write its own story.

5.  Spend the Rest of Tonight Relaxing: The way I see it, it’s Sunday night and how much are you really going to accomplish before bedtime? Instead, use what’s left of your weekend to plan and prepare for the week ahead. Have a hot bath, watch your favourite show, and get to bed at a decent time. You have the whole week to be productive!

Wishing everyone a wonderful, new week! Here are some of my favourite Monday mantras to get you started. 

If your dreams don't scare you, they are not big enough. - Seth Godin #Godin          Fall in love with the process, and the results will come.  <3

2 thoughts on “Recover from your Lazy Weekend

  1. I know exactly what you mean about planning to be super (not really super) productive and then you don’t do anything productive. That was me this weekend too. I did nothing. Nothing that I planned and nothing that I didn’t plan. Basically I sat on the couch and watching the Olympics with my dad. But today is the day to get my butt in gear and get things done.

What are your thoughts?

